A series of historical and cultural lectures “TO LIVE IN THE MIDDLE AGES”
 with Kirill Sutormin, research fellow at the State Historical Museum.

Vincent Art Gallery is beginning 2020 by holding a series of meetings with Kirill Sutormin, leading historian, research fellow at the State Historical Museum. What to do? What is there to talk about and who to talk to? How to avoid being burned at the stake and marry a knight? How to entertain yourself and your family on a medieval New Year’s Eve? So how not to die and even succeed in the Dark Ages? What are the vital issues and challenges facing men in the Middle Ages? We will give you 5 fascinating lectures on life in the Middle Ages. Lecture duration - 2.5 hours with a break.
Series program:

Thursday, January 23 at 7:00 p.m. - GUIDE TO THE MIDDLE AGES
Why are we interested in this period and why is it so important for human civilization? How did the Dark Ages begin and how did it end? Could a modern person become successful and popular in medieval Europe or Russia, and what qualities would he have to possess for this? Were the “Beautiful Ladies” really that beautiful and the “Brave Knights” that faithful? What did the alchemists do? What miracles and magic were popular in the Middle Ages? What drugs and potions did the soldier take with him on a campaign, how much did his sword weigh, how could one sign up for a tournament or avoid being accused of heresy? And many other things from such an amazing and so unique period - the Middle Ages...


Thursday, January 30 at 7:00 p.m. - THE ART OF ENTERTAINMENT IN THE MIDDLE AGES
We will dive into the holiday spirit of bygone days and talk about how and when people saw out and celebrated the New Year in the Middle Ages - from the Viking Age to the 16th century. What strange traditions were associated with this magical time and how did the Church view it all? How did the mason, the shopkeeper spend their leisure time after a hard work shift, and did the peasant have enough energy to do fun stuff? What things did the ladies and princesses enjoy, how did the knights and gentlemen win their attention? What educational and skill-development games were popular in child-centered pedagogy of the Middle Ages and were the knights interested only in hunting, war and tournaments? How fun was it to live in the Dark Ages?

Saturday, February 1 at 3:00 p.m. - DARK TIMES: INQUISITION AND HERESY
Christianity was the foundation of medieval society, so any deviations from the established dogmas were considered not just a crime against faith, but also as a crime against state power. We will talk about the most prominent heretical teaching, as well as about the stern public authority, which was intended to struggle against it, i.e. the Inquisition.

Thursday, February 6 at 7:00 p.m. - ROMANTIC MEDIEVAL: COURTESY AND CHIVALRY
A culture of courtesy is one of the “calling cards” of the Middle Ages. Noble knights, beautiful ladies and sweet-voiced troubadours, what is true in the images of these characters and what is false? When did the poems about the knights of the round table appear, and who were considered the greatest heroes of their time by contemporaries? What such orders of chivalry as the Order of the Garter, the Order of the Golden Fleece were like and what did encourage the nobles to leave secular values and join the military orders, such as the famous Order of Knights Templars, etc.

Saturday, February 8 at 3:00 p.m. - CRUSADES AND MEDIEVAL WARS
For many of us, the Middle Ages is a time of continuous wars. But what do we really know about them? What was the reason for the first crusade and how did their idea evolve over two hundred years? Were medieval battles as bloody as they are featured in the films and which ones were crucial for the history of Europe?
Product added to cart
Place an order

See also
from

Цикл историко-культурологических лекций «ЖИТЬ В СРЕДНЕВЕКОВЬЕ» 
с научным сотрудником Государственного Исторического Музея - Кириллом Суторминым.

Артгалерея Vincent открывает 2020-ый год серией встреч с ведущим историком, научным сотрудником Государственного Исторического Музея - Кириллом Суторминым. Что делать? О чем и с кем говорить? Как избежать костра и выйти замуж за рыцаря? Чем занять себя и свою семью в средневековую новогоднюю ночь? В общем, как не пропасть и даже преуспеть в Тёмные века? Какие насущные вопросы и проблемы встают перед человеком в Средние века? Вас ждут 5 увлекательных лекций о жизни в Средневековье. Продолжительность лекции — 2,5 часа с перерывом.
Программа цикла:

23 января в четверг в 19.00 — ПУТЕВОДИТЕЛЬ ПО СРЕДНЕВЕКОВЬЮ.
Почему нас интересует это время и чем оно так важно для человеческой цивилизации? С чего начинались и как закончились «Тёмные века»? Смог бы современный человек стать успешным и популярным в средневековой Европе или России, и какими качествами он должен был бы обладать для этого? Так ли были прекрасны «Прекрасные дамы» и и верны «Храбрые рыцари»? Чем занимались алхимики? Какие чудеса и волшебства были популярны в Средние века? Какие снадобья и зелья брал с собой в поход солдат, сколько весил его меч, как можно было записаться на турнир или избежать обвинения в ереси? И многое другое из такого удивительного и такого ли, неповторимого времени — Средневековья…


30 января в четверг в 19.00 — ИСКУССТВО РАЗВЛЕЧЕНИЙ В СРЕДНИЕ ВЕКА
Мы окунемся в праздничное настроение давно минувших дней и поговорим о том, как и когда провожали и встречали Новый год в Средние века — от эпохи викингов до XVI века. Какие странные традиции были связаны с этим волшебным временем и как на все это смотрела Церковь. Как проводил свой досуг каменотес после тяжелой рабочей смены, лавочник, и хватало ли сил развлекаться у крестьянина. Чем наслаждались дамы и принцессы, как завоевывали их внимание рыцари и кавалеры? Какие обучающие и развивающие игры были популярны в детской педагогике Средневековья и только ли охота, война и турниры интересовали рыцарей?Насколько же весело было жить в Темные века?

1 февраля в субботу в 15.00 — ТЕМНЫЕ ВРЕМЕНА: ИНКВИЗИЦИЯ И ЕРЕСИ.
Христианство являлось основой средневекового общества, поэтому любые отклонения от установленных догм рассматривались не просто как преступление против веры, но и как преступление против государственной власти. Наш разговор пойдет о наиболее видных еретических учениях, а так же о суровом органе власти, целью которого была борьба с ними — инквизицией.

6 февраля в четверг в 19.00 — РОМАНТИЧЕСКОЕ СРЕДНЕВЕКОВЬЕ: КУРТУАЗНОСТЬ И РЫЦАРСТВО.
Куртуазная культура — одна из "визитных карточек" средневековья. Благородные рыцари, прекрасные дамы и сладкоголосые трубадуры, что в образах этих персонажей истина, а что ложь? Когда родились поэмы о рыцарях круглого стола и кого современники считали величайшими героями своего времени? Что из себя представляли такие рыцарские объединения, как "Орден подвязки", "Орден золотого руна" и что побуждало дворян оставлять мирские ценности и вступать в военно-монашеские ордена, такие как известный орден Тамплиеров и др.

8 февраля в субботу в 15.00 - КРЕСТОВЫЕ ПОХОДЫ И СРЕДНЕВЕКОВЫЕ ВОЙНЫ.
Для многих из нас средневековье — это время непрекращающихся войн. Но что на самом деле мы о них знаем? В чем крылась причина первого крестового похода и как их идея эволюционировала за две сотни лет? Были ли средневековые битвы так кровопролитны, как нам рисуют их в фильмах и какие из них стали решающими для истории Европы.
Товар добавлен в корзину
Оформить заказ

Смотрите также
от {{product.formated_min_price}}